Your Connecticut DMV Hearing
The DMV Driver's License Suspension Process
In Connecticut, police officers send an A44 arrest
report to the DMV following a DWI/DUI arrest. Once the DMV receives
this report, it has 30 days to send you a driver's license suspension
letter. Once this letter is sent (whether you actually receive the
letter or not), you will have seven days to request a hearing to
contest the suspension.
It is vital that you know this: the DMV will send
mail to the address it has on file for you and to that address only.
If you get mail at a different address, you may not get your suspension
notice and you may miss your chance to save your license.
To suspend your driver's license, the DMV will have
to find that:
- You were operating a car on a public road.
- You were arrested.
- The police officer had probable cause to arrest
- You had a blood alcohol content (BAC) above .08
or you refused a Breathalyzer test.
By reviewing your arrest report and perhaps cross-examining
the police officer, your lawyer may be able to find technical errors
that can help you win your case and save your license.
Driver's License Suspension Periods in Connecticut
The following driver's license suspension periods
will apply in your civil case:
- Three months if your BAC was under .16
- Four months if your BAC was over .16
- Six months if you refused a Breathalyzer test
- Nine months if your BAC was under .16
- Ten months if your BAC was over .16
- One year if you refused a Breathalyzer test
- Two years if your BAC was under .16
- Thirty months if your BAC was over .16
- Three years if you refused a Breathalyzer test
You also face a criminal suspension of your driver's
license if you are later convicted or plead guilty to drunk driving.
If you drive after your license has been suspended for an alcohol-related
offense, you could be sentenced to up to one year in jail and you
will have to spend at least 30 days in jail. However, I can help
you apply for a work permit to drive to and from your job or school.
Learn More About DWI/DUI
Law in Connecticut
When so much is at stake, it does not make sense to
take a chance with your future. For more information about the consequences
and defenses in a Connecticut DWI/DUI case, please select from the
Free Attorney Consultation
To discuss your case with Connecticut lawyer Christopher
Duby, call 203-234-2888 24 hours a day or complete our simple contact
My philosophy as a lawyer is simple:
- Put the client first
- Respond to phone calls
- Schedule a free initial consultation no matter
what your case is about
The Law Office of Christopher Duby LLC is located
at 22 Broadway, North Haven, CT 06473. View
Google Map and directions.
Christopher Duby represents clients in New Haven County, Hartford
County, Fairfield County and Middlesex County in Connecticut, including
the communities of New Haven, Hamden, North Haven, East Haven, Branford,
Madison, Milford, West Haven, Cheshire, Meriden, Wallingford, Guilford,
North Branford, Woodbridge, Bethany, Monroe, Trumbull, Easton, Fairfield,
Stratford, Bridgeport, Oxford, Beacon Falls, Seymour, Ansonia, Derby,
Orange, Shelton, Clinton, Westbrook, Old Saybrook, Middletown, Middlefield,
Portland, Durham, Prospect, Naugatuck, Wolcott, Waterbury, Watertown,
Middlebury, Woodbury, Southbury, Southington.